Rule 114. Delayed penalty call – puck control & goals
1. For most penalties, a player from the offending team must be in control of the puck for game action to be stopped and the penalties assessed.
2. A touch of the puck or glancing contact between stick and puck does not constitute control unless that contact results in a goal for the team being penalized.
3. If the offending team is not in control of the puck, the referee will raise his arm signifying his intention to call a penalty, but he will not stop game action until:
4. If the offending team is not in control of the puck but the team about to gain the man advantage intentionally refrains from playing the puck to let time run down on a penalty it has previously incurred, the referee will stop play.
5. If the team in control of the puck during a delayed-penalty situation scores into its own goal, the goal will be credited to the opposition, but the penalty will still be assessed.
6. The team being penalized during a delayed-penalty situation cannot score a goal by its own means.
7. If more than one minor or bench-minor penalty is to be called and, after the referee has raised his arm, a goal is scored by the team in control of the puck, the goal will count and the referee will ask the captain of the penalized team which penalty will be cancelled.
8. If the team being penalized is already short-handed and its opponent scores a goal during a delayed-penalty call, the earlier minor penalty being served is automatically terminated and all new penalties being signalled will be assessed.
9. If there is a delayed penalty to a team for a minor or bench-minor penalty, and that team is already short-handed with a major or match penalty, and the opposition scores, the delayed penalty will be cancelled but the major or match penalty remains on the scoreclock.
10. If a team is assessed a penalty and scores a goal on the same play so quickly that the referee does not have time to blow his whistle before the puck enters the goal net, he can still nullify the goal and assess the penalty after stopping play.
11. If, during a delayed penalty, the team in possession of the puck scores into its opponent’s goal, the minor penalty will be cancelled. If a double-minor penalty were to be assessed, one minor penalty is cancelled and the other imposed. If a major, misconduct, or match penalty were to be imposed, these will still be assessed even if a goal is scored.
12. If, during a delayed penalty, two or more minor penalties were to be assessed to more than one player and a goal is scored, the referee will ask the captain of the penalized team which penalty to cancel. The second and subsequent penalties will still be imposed. The order of the penalties assessed will not be taken into consideration.
13. If an attacking skater on a breakaway is fouled by an opponent to the degree that warrants a major and automatic game-misconduct penalty, the penalties will be imposed on the opponent regardless if the penalty shot is successful or not.
Game situation 1: A delayed penalty is signalled on Team A, and a player from Team B shoots the puck on goal. If the goaltender stops the shot, gains control of the puck, and deliberately directs the puck to a teammate, the referee will stop game action.
Game situation 2: A delayed penalty is signalled on a player from Team A, and Team B has substituted its goaltender in favour of an extra skater. While skating in front of his net with the puck, a skater from Team B is stick-checked by a skater from Team A. If the puck goes in the open goal net, the goal will not count.
Game situation 3: A delayed penalty is signalled on a player from Team A, and Team B has substituted its goaltender in favour of an extra skater. A skater from Team B has possession of the puck, and as he passes the puck to a teammate, the puck deflects off a Team A skater. If the puck goes into the open goal net of Team B, the goal will not count and the penalty will be assessed.
Game situation 4: A delayed penalty is signalled to Team A, and Team B has substituted its goaltender for an extra skater. A skater from Team B shoots the puck, which hits a Team A skater. If the puck deflects back down the ice and into the open goal net of Team B, the goal will not count and the delayed penalty will be assessed.
Game situation 5: A delayed penalty is signalled against A6 and a penalty shot will be awarded to Team B as a result of the infraction. Before the play is stopped, A6 commits another infraction calling for a minor penalty. If Team B scores a goal before the play is stopped, the penalty shot is washed out, but the referee will assess the minor penalty to A6. If Team B does not score before the play is stopped, the referee will award a penalty shot to Team B and assess the minor penalty to A6. A6 must serve the penalty regardless of the result of the penalty shot.
Game situation 6: A delayed penalty is signalled on Team A. Team B, in possession of the puck, pulls its goaltender for an extra skater. The skater of Team B, in possession of the puck in his defending zone, tries to make a pass to his teammate, but the puck heads towards his team’s empty goal net. His teammate dives in an attempt to prevent the puck from entering the empty goal net, but he misses the puck. If his momentum carries him into the goal frame, causing the goal net to come completely off its pegs, a goal will be awarded and the penalty assessed to Team A.
Game situation 7: A delayed penalty is signalled on Team A. Team B, in possession of the puck, pulls the goaltender for an extra skater. The skater of Team B, in possession of the puck in his defending zone, tries to make a pass to his teammate, but the puck heads towards his team’s empty goal net. His teammate dives and successfully prevents the puck from entering the empty goal net. His momentum carries him into the goal frame, causing the net to come completely off its pegs. If the referee ruled that the skater accidentally (very unlikely) displaced the goal net after preventing the puck from entering the open net, no penalty is assessed to Team B. If, however, the referee determines that the skater purposefully dislodged the goal net to prevent a goal, the referee will award a goal to Team A and assess the penalty to Team A.
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 | 52 | 53 | 54 | 55 | 56 | 57 | 58 | 59 | 60 | 61 | 62 | 63 | 64 | 65 | 66 | 67 | 68 | 69 | 70 | 71 | 72 | 73 | 74 | 75 | 76 | 77 | 78 | 79 | 80 | 81 | 82 | 83 | 84 | 85 | 86 | 87 | 88 | 89 | 90 | 91 | 92 | 93 | 94 | 95 | 96 | 97 | 98 | 99 | 100 | 101 | 102 | 103 | 104 | 105 | 106 | 107 | 108 | 109 | 110 | 111 | 112 | 113 | 114 | 115 | 116 | 117 | 118 | 119 | 120 | 121 | 122 | 123 | 124 | 125 | 126 | 127 | 128 | 129 | 130 | 131 | 132 | 133 | 134 | 135 | 136 | 137 | 138 | 139 | 140 | 141 | 142 | 143 | 144 | 145 | 146 | 147 | 148 | 149 | 150 | 151 | 152 | 153 | 154 | 155 | 156 | 157 | 158 | 159 | 160 | 161 | 162 | 163 | 164 | 165 | 166 | 167 | 168 | 169 | 170 | 171 | 172 | 173 | 174 | 175 | 176 | 177 | 178 | 179 | 180 | 181 | 182 | 183 | 184 | 185 | 186 | 187 | 188 | 189 | 190 | 191 | 192 | 193 | 194 | 195 | 196 | 197 | 198 | 199 | 200 | 201 | 202 | 203 | 204 | 205 | 206 | 207 | 208 | 209 | 210 | 211 | 212 | 213 | 214 | 215 | 216 | 217 | 218 | 219 | 220 | 221 | 222 | 223 | 224 | 225 | 226 |