IIHF OFFICIAL RULE BOOK 20182022

            English         -Eng    



Contents
 <         > 

171


Rule 171.    Awarding a penalty shot / breakaway
IIHF

1. If an attacking skater is on a breakaway and is fouled by an opponent from behind, or by the opposing goaltender, the skater will be awarded a penalty shot.

2. If the skater loses control or possession of the puck after being fouled, the referee will stop game action and award a penalty shot.

3. If the skater is fouled but still manages to maintain possession of the puck, the referee will delay the penalty call and allow the skater to complete his action.

4. If the fouled skater manages to score, the penalty shot will be cancelled. If the penalty being assessed was a minor penalty, it will also be cancelled by the goal, but if the penalty being assessed was a misconduct, major and automatic game misconduct, or match penalty, these will still be assessed.

5. If the referee signals a penalty shot, and before the play is whistled (because of a goal or to call the penalty shot) another foul is assessed to the same team, the additional penalty will be assessed regardless if the skater scores on either the play or the subsequent penalty shot.

6. If a foul occurs near the end of any period (regulation or overtime) and time expires on the scoreclock before the referee can award the penalty shot, the shot will still be taken.


Game situation 1: If A9 is on a breakaway and is fouled from behind by B5, the referee will award A9 a penalty shot and B5 will serve the automatic misconduct penalty.

Game situation 2: A skater from Team A is on a breakaway and is fouled from behind by B9. If the foul carries with it a major and automatic game-misconduct penalty or match penalty, the referee will award a penalty shot, and the skater of Team B who committed the foul will still be assessed the major and automatic game-misconduct penalty or match penalty.

Game situation 3: A skater from Team A is on a breakaway and is fouled from behind. If he falls on the ice but manages to get up and take a clear shot on goal, no penalty shot will be awarded. However, the minor penalty to Team B will still be assessed.

Game situation 4: A9 is on a breakaway and is tripped. If the puck goes free, and A7 controls the puck and takes a clear shot on goal (but does not score) no penalty shot will be awarded. However, the minor penalty to Team B will still be assessed.

Game situation 5: A6 is on a breakaway and is fouled from behind by B3. The referee signals a penalty shot, but before play is completed, a second infraction is signalled (either to B3 or to another skater on Team B). In this case, the penalty shot washes out the first infraction, but the skater on Team B committing the second infraction will still be penalized. He must go to the penalty box to serve the penalty regardless of the result of the penalty shot. Further, if Team B is already serving another minor penalty, then the team will still serve this penalty regardless of the result of the penalty shot and will play two men short.

Game situation 6: A10 is in the penalty box (penalty on scoreclock). A8 is to be assessed a slashing penalty, but before play is stopped Team B is awarded a penalty shot due to an additional foul by Team A. If Team B scores on the penalty shot, no skater from Team A returns to the ice and the penalty to A8 will still be assessed.

Game situation 7: If A9 is on a breakaway and B2, standing behind his goal net, dislodges it, the referee will award a penalty shot.



 <         > 


Rule numbers:
  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  64  |  65  |  66  |  67  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  82  |  83  |  84  |  85  |  86  |  87  |  88  |  89  |  90  |  91  |  92  |  93  |  94  |  95  |  96  |  97  |  98  |  99  |  100  |  101  |  102  |  103  |  104  |  105  |  106  |  107  |  108  |  109  |  110  |  111  |  112  |  113  |  114  |  115  |  116  |  117  |  118  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  122  |  123  |  124  |  125  |  126  |  127  |  128  |  129  |  130  |  131  |  132  |  133  |  134  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138  |  139  |  140  |  141  |  142  |  143  |  144  |  145  |  146  |  147  |  148  |  149  |  150  |  151  |  152  |  153  |  154  |  155  |  156  |  157  |  158  |  159  |  160  |  161  |  162  |  163  |  164  |  165  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170  |  171  |  172  |  173  |  174  |  175  |  176  |  177  |  178  |  179  |  180  |  181  |  182  |  183  |  184  |  185  |  186  |  187  |  188  |  189  |  190  |  191  |  192  |  193  |  194  |  195  |  196  |  197  |  198  |  199  |  200  |  201  |  202  |  203  |  204  |  205  |  206  |  207  |  208  |  209  |  210  |  211  |  212  |  213  |  214  |  215  |  216  |  217  |  218  |  219  |  220  |  221  |  222  |  223  |  224  |  225  |  226  |


@Mail.ru