IIHF OFFICIAL RULE BOOK 20182022

            English         -Eng    



Contents
 <         > 

178


Rule 178.    Penalty-shot procedure / specific situations
IIHF

1. If a player from the opposing team interferes with or distracts a skater taking the penalty shot, and because of such actions the shot fails, the referee will allow the skater to re-take the penalty shot and assess a misconduct penalty to the offending player.

2. If a team official from the players bench of the defending team interferes with or distracts a skater taking the penalty shot, and because of such actions the shot fails, the referee will allow the skater to re-take the penalty shot and assess a game-misconduct penalty to the offending official.

3. The spin-o-rama move in which a skater makes a 360-degree turn as he approaches the goal net is not allowed.

4. The lacrosse-like manoeuvre in which a skater flips the puck onto the blade of his stick and skates with it in this fashion is not allowed.

5. If any of the following occurs, the goal will count:

  • 1) the puck hits the goal post and rebounds into the goal net;
  • 2) the puck hits the goaltender and rebounds into the goal net;
  • 3) the puck hits the goal post and then the goaltender and into the goal net;
  • 4) the puck hits the goaltender and then the goal post and into the goal net;
  • 5) the puck hits the goaltender who slides, together with the puck, into the goal net.

    6. When a skater and goaltender have been selected by their respective coaches to take a shot and defend the goal net against this shot, neither can be changed if the shot must be re-taken due to a violation of rules or a foul committed by the goaltender except in case of injury. In this case, the coach may designate another skater to take the shot or the backup goaltender to defend the goal net.

    7. During the course of a penalty shot or penalty-shot shootout, when the puck enters the goal net and the goal frame comes off its moorings or is not in the correct position as a result of the goaltenders action or of the goaltender "trying to make the save," the goal will count without video-goal judge review.

    8. During the course of a penalty shot or penalty-shot shootout, if the goal net comes off its moorings or is not in the correct position as a result of the goaltenders action or the goaltender "trying to make the save," and the puck does not go into the goal net, no goal will be awarded.

    9. Any methods used by the skater taking a penalty shot or penalty-shot shootout to distract the goaltender will result in the shot being considered complete, and no goal will be awarded.

    10. If a spectator interferes with the penalty shot so that either the skater is unable to take his shot properly or the goaltender is unable to play his position properly, the referee will rule the shot to be re-taken.

    11. If a penalty-shot goal is scored during a power-play situation, the penalized skater will not be allowed to return to the ice.

    12. The penalty shot will be taken with the scoreclock frozen at the time of the whistle. It does not run during the penalty-shot process.

    13. If a team is playing without a dressed goaltender when a penalty shot is awarded against it, it must designate a skater to be the goaltender and provide him full goaltenders privileges. This skater must follow the same regulations as a regular goaltender during the shot; however, he is not required to wear all of the equipment. After the shot has been taken, the skater will be reclassified as a skater. This situation applies only in the case of a penalty shot.


  • Game situation 1: If a skater breaks his stick during the course of taking a penalty shot, there are four possible rulings: *1. If he scores as the stick breaks, the goal will count; *2. If he misses as the stick breaks, the shot is considered complete; *3. If his stick breaks, and then he shoots and scores, the goal will not count. *4. If he breaks his stick any time prior to shooting, the shot is considered complete.



     <         > 


    Rule numbers:
      1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  64  |  65  |  66  |  67  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  82  |  83  |  84  |  85  |  86  |  87  |  88  |  89  |  90  |  91  |  92  |  93  |  94  |  95  |  96  |  97  |  98  |  99  |  100  |  101  |  102  |  103  |  104  |  105  |  106  |  107  |  108  |  109  |  110  |  111  |  112  |  113  |  114  |  115  |  116  |  117  |  118  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  122  |  123  |  124  |  125  |  126  |  127  |  128  |  129  |  130  |  131  |  132  |  133  |  134  |  135  |  136  |  137  |  138  |  139  |  140  |  141  |  142  |  143  |  144  |  145  |  146  |  147  |  148  |  149  |  150  |  151  |  152  |  153  |  154  |  155  |  156  |  157  |  158  |  159  |  160  |  161  |  162  |  163  |  164  |  165  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170  |  171  |  172  |  173  |  174  |  175  |  176  |  177  |  178  |  179  |  180  |  181  |  182  |  183  |  184  |  185  |  186  |  187  |  188  |  189  |  190  |  191  |  192  |  193  |  194  |  195  |  196  |  197  |  198  |  199  |  200  |  201  |  202  |  203  |  204  |  205  |  206  |  207  |  208  |  209  |  210  |  211  |  212  |  213  |  214  |  215  |  216  |  217  |  218  |  219  |  220  |  221  |  222  |  223  |  224  |  225  |  226  |


    @Mail.ru